Skip to product information
1 of 1

Guard Your Heart #9



A natural heart has four chambers. Two smaller chambers (the atria) which receive blood, and two larger chambers (the ventricles) which give blood. 

The heart receives oxygenated blood from the lungs and gives it to the body. It then receives deoxygenated blood from the body and gives it to the lungs. All a heart does is receive and give. It is the rhythm of life.

This is a wonderful picture of our spiritual heart. Jesus summarized kingdom ministry by saying, “…freely you have received; freely give…” (Matthew 10:8). All we do is receive and give.

In a natural heart the direction of the flow is important – we don’t want blood flowing in the wrong direction. It is the same with a spiritual heart.

For example, when we are hurt by someone (which we will be), we shouldn’t fight back, and cause further hurt (even if we want to).

Instead, our rhythm of grace should be as follows: we receive mercy from God and give grace to the world, and when we receive insults, or bad news, from the world, we give praise to God.

Receive mercy, give grace, receive bad news, give praise. You can’t afford to disrupt this rhythm because, as you know, “…everything you do flows from it…" (Proverbs 4:23).

So, what flows from your heart?

Do you find yourself reacting aggressively to criticism?

Do you find it easy to be forgiven and to forgive?

Do you praise God despite the difficulties?


View full details